top of page
Search
  • jordanjames-bruce

CASE STUDY 'B'

CASE STUDY 'B'

Breed:                             Collie X Gender: Female

Age:                               Young / Middle aged

Length of stay:                Short-term

INFORMATIVE STATEMENT

Throughout the day, I surveyed and documented Case Study 'A's behaviour within a kennel environment, followed by when relocated into a more natural environment, away from the shelter. Delegated to walking the dogs, I was able to obtain personal one-to-one observation with the selected Case Studies.

To ensure accuracy of my results, I visited my Case Studies throughout the duration of the day in two hour intervals. Despite trying to remain at a distance as to not disrupt their natural behaviour within their environment, due to the linear and systematic layout, it proved extremely difficult to undertake observations without making my presence known to the animals. Nonetheless, my presence did not cause any additional distress, and in some cases appeared to implement comfort and reassurance. Similarly, I feel it did not directly affect my results.

RESULTS In-Kennel

Short-visit one (10.10am): Eyes focused on me even from far away. Eyes watched me. Sitting very stiffly in bed area. Short-visit two (12.10pm): Lying in bed area. On approach to her kennel her eyes focused on me. Eyes had an element of 'drooping' and void of emotion.

Short-visit three (2.10pm): Sitting in bed area, intensely staring out of the hatchway onto the outside run. Listening intently to distant barks from the main kennel block. When aware of my presence, her eyes focused on me intently and my actions. When entering her kennel to take her for a walk, her eyes had an element of fear, shifting nervously from me to the floor. As I approached to put on the lead, her entire body language stiffened as if she was not going to move. Slight shivering. I had to use very slowly movements and a calming voice to enable her to relax enough for me to apply the lead. Ran quickly past all the other kennels to avoid confrontation.

Out-of-Kennel

Throughout the walk, within close proximity to the shelter she would suddenly swing her head round and intently focus on the muffled barks. A loud bang erupted during the walk in one of the surrounding fields, which startled her. However, as we began to progress away from the facility her body language relaxed immensely, eyes becoming more alert as she sniffed and explored everything around her. Her tail, originally between her legs, loosened and began to wag as we walked.

EVALUATIVE THOUGHTS

For Case Study 'B', I believe that she is very nervous and unsure in a kennel environment. She has not been accustomed to it for very long, and therefore this novel environment is still seemingly very threatening and unpredictable for her. The barking in particular engages her attention intently, and a person entering her own space in her kennel makes her very anxious. Once you become acquainted with her and prove you are not a threat, she allows herself to relax slightly and takes the opportunity to rest to recuperate from mental exhaustion of always being on-edge.

Once removed from the kennel environment, her mentality shows gradual improvement, with her body language and mentality relax and takes in her surroundings, focusing her attention on smelling new smells and investigating things along the walk. Once put back into the kennel environment, her eyes immediately have a glazed look of anxiety, slowly looking in the direction of the excitable barks.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page