top of page
Search
  • jordanjames-bruce

" Shelter B " - Day One - Volunteering / First-Hand Observation

OVERVIEW

Today was ‘Day 1’ of volunteering at RSPCA Block Fen, located in March. On arrival, I had a short induction on the individual facilities health and safety regulations, day to day activities and a tour of the complex.

I was delegated to just the kennel facility of the centre, and will remain there for the duration of my two-day volunteering experience. On initial observation, the kennels replicated a common layout of inside and outside runs linear to one another. Nonetheless, unlike RSPCA Radcliffe-on-Trent, the allocation of dog into each block has been much more considered. There is their main re-homing block, consisting of the largest amount of kennels in each block. This block is open to the public, and is subject to constant visits of potential adopters (commonly with their own dogs) walking past the outside runs. This block is primarily for the most behaviourally content dogs, of which can cope in a kennel environment. A separate block is located behind a ‘Staff Only’ restrictive fence, off-limits to the public allowing for a slightly calmer atmosphere. Without the constant flow of visitors, the dogs within this block have no reason to uproar in excited barking, allowing the dogs not psychologically coping an overall quieter block. However, the design and layout of this kennel block maintains the systematic system of kennel after kennel. Nonetheless, the staff set up a radio on the inside of this block, played as an attempt to calm the dogs and ensure there is not just two extremes of either an uneasy silence or an uproar of persistent barking.

WHAT I WANT TO ACHIEVE

During my two days, I will work closely within the two different blocks: the public re-homing block and the private assessment block, (as stated above). This will give me a broader selection of 'case studies' to observe and document behaviour in and away from a kennel environment.

I aim to select four case 'dogs' as this facility - two from the main re-homing block, and two from the private assessmet block. I aim to select the dogs at random as to not make the observations bias. Oce this choice has been made, I will then determine what breed they are and the length of stay they have been in a kennel environment.

KNOWN LIMITATIONS

Before I begin my observations, I have discovered a series of limitations on arrival, which may limit my findings:

- During my induction, the conversation on the tolerance of 'aggressive' dogs arose. I was informed

that due to them feeling it was emotionally unfair on the dog, any dog that showed signs of

aggression will not have made it to the facility. As they cannot offer anything other than a kennel

facility, they undertook the decision to euthanise the selected dogs. Therefore, it has become

apparent that I cannot observe the 'aggressive' dogs referred to in my hypothesis. Nonetheless, I

aim to continue my observations to witness any psychological effects on the dogs caused by the

kennel environment.

- At this point in the investigation, I am not fully aware of exactly what comprises of 'calming'

architecture, and due to restraints of limited staff / free areas on-site, I will not be able to re-create

a space with essences of 'calming architecture' to observe any change in behaviour or mentality

by transitionning a dog from the kennel to this staged environment. Nonetheless, the facility allows

the volunteers to walk the dogs across four fields, creating a great distance between yourselves

and the kennel facility. This will now be my opportunity to witness any change in the dog's

behaviour.

- Despite trying to ensure my results are as accurate as possible, I will try to ensure that my

presence does not interrupt the dogs normal behaviour, as it may jeopardise my results.

Nonetheless, when entering the inside of a kennel block, once one dog sees you an array of

frantic barking takes place and all of the dogs stop what they are doing to see what is

happening. This may disrupt their behaviour of which I wanted to document.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page